Happy Ayudha Pooja 2021

Ayudha puja, Happy Ayudha Pooja 2021

“May god bless u with all the “Ayudha” to fight with all the difficulties of life & “Vijaya” in every walk of ur life on this joyous occasion of “Ayudha Puja” & “Vijayadashami.”

Ayudha puja is observed on the tenth day of the bright half moon cycle of the fifteenth day.  This is an indian festival. On this day the instruments are worshipped by people. This day is also known as dussehra or vijayadashmi.

The tools or instruments are worshipped on this day. This is a very important part of navratri festival. 

HISTORY of Ayudha Pooja

On this day the instruments or shastra of goddess Durga are worshipped by people. On this day goddess killed Mahishasura—the buffalo demon king and marked the victory of good over evil.

The instruments or shastra of goddess durga are worshipped on this day because this shows the Goddess Durga—Shakti in her full glory. 


The navratri is a nine days festival and on the tenth day of this festival the ayudha puja is performed. Here we have written the ways to celebrate this day.

  • Draw a beautiful rangoli on your doorstep.
  • Keep a wooden plank near the wall of the pooja room.
  • Place a red cloth on the plank.
  • Put an idol of goddess Durga on that plank.
  • Place the instrument of goddess laxmi near that plank.
  • Then decorate goddess durga with kumkum,rice and flowers.
  • Pray to Lord Ganesha first by chanting a simple prayer “ Suklam Baradharam”. 
  • Then you worship goddess durga and the instrument.
  • After all this, show the Aarti and finish the pooja.


In sanskrit Durga means “the Inaccessible”. The goddess durga is known for the shakti or power. She is the goddess of power. Durga was Born fully grown and beautiful.

The image of the idol of Durga is very beautiful. Her vehicle is a lion. She has eight to ten hands. Each of her arms have different weapons given by different gods to kill the demon. 


Goddess durga has nine forms. Each form represents different things. Here we have listed the nine forms of goddess durga.

  1. Goddess Shailputri
  2. Goddess Brahmacharini
  3. Goddess Chandraghanta
  4. Goddess Kushmanda
  5. Goddess Skandmata
  6. Goddess Katyayani 
  7. Goddess Kaalratri
  8. Goddess Mahagauri
  9. Goddess Siddhidatri


Goddess Parvathi was born as the daughter of mountain and in sanskrit mountain is called as shail, that is why she is called shailputri. She rides a bull called Nandi. She has a trishul on his hand. The devotees offer pure ghee to goddess Shailputri and it is believed that by doing this the goddess blesses them with a life free of diseases and illness. 


when goddess parvathi engages in her deep meditation to please Lord Shiva then she realizes as goddess brahmacharini. She has a rudraksh mala on her one hand and a sacred Kamandalu on the other hand. For the longevity of the family members, people offer sugar to this goddess.


She is known as chandraghanta because she has a crescent moon on her forehead. She rides a tiger. She has ten arms. To get out of all the pains the devotees offer kheer to her.


Kushmanda is derived from three words – ‘Ku’ (little), ‘Ushma’ (warmth or energy) and ‘Amanda’ (egg), which means the creator of the universe. To get and improve the intellect and decision-making ability people offer malpua to her.


She is called skandmata because she carries a little Kartikay on her lap and Kartikeya is also known as skanda. She sits on a lotus. She carries a lotus in two of her arms with a sacred Kamandalu and a bell in the other two arms. She is offered bananas.


This goddess is the form of shakti or power and also known as the warrior goddess. She rides a lion. She has four arms and she carries a sword. People offer honey to them.


She is known as kaalratri because she sacrificed her colour and embraced a dark complexion to kill demons. She carries a sword, a trident, and a noose. She rides a donkey. Her third eye contains the whole universe. Offering Jaggery to goddess Kalratri gives relief from pains, obstacles and brings happiness. 


Goddess mahagauri rides a bull or a white elephant. She has four arms in which she carries trishul and damru. She is offered coconut by devotees. 


This goddess sits on a lotus. She has four arms holding a mace, discus and a book and lotus. The goddess sidhidatri signifies perfection. For safety and security from unnatural events she is offered Sesame Seeds by the devotees.


  • Goddess Durga is known as the other half of lord shiva.
  • The eight arms of goddess durga signifies eight directions.
  • The weapons of her eight arms signifies that She protects her devotees from all evil.
  • Goddess durga rides a lion because lion signifies the power.
  • Goddess Durga is known as the ultimate power.
  • Goddess durga has three eyes.
  • Her three eyes signifies Agni, Surya and Chandra.
  • She is also known as mahishasur mardhini.

“Devi-Mahatmayam has special meaning for spirituality,With illumination, wisdom, strength – to freedom finally.”

Thanks for visiting our site. We hope you liked our content.

Happy Ayudha puja 2021.

Leave a Comment